Celebrate your colleagues!
Nominations are currently being accepted for 2023 Physician Citizen of the Year! To nominate a friend, colleague or personal physician for the award, complete the nomination form by December 31, 2022. Learn more.

2022 Director's Award

Michael Miller, MD

The Director's Award was presented to Society past president Molli Rolli, MD. Established in 1928, this award is the Society’s highest honor, given to recognize outstanding physicians who have served the medical profession with integrity and honor and who have made numerous and substantial contributions to the profession and the community.

Dr. Rolli was presented the 2022 Director’s Award in recognition of her longstanding involvement in the Society as President, Board Chair, Director and numerous Councils and Committees.

Past recipients
Michael Miller, MD (2021); Barbara Hummel, MD (2020); Darold Treffert, MD (2019); Timothy McAvoy, MD (2018); Susan L. Turney, MD (2017); George M. Lange, MD (2016); John Frey, MD (2015); No recipient (2014); No recipient (2013); No recipient (2012); No recipient (2011); Clarence Chou, MD (2010); Carl S.L. Eisenberg, MD (2009); Robert Phillips, MD (2008); Cyril (Kim) Hetsko, MD (2007); Philip Farrell, MD (2006); Mark Andrew, MD (2005); Jack Lockhart, MD (2004); William J. Listwan, MD (2003); Thomas C. Meyer, MD (2002); Sandra Osborn, MD (2001); Richard Roberts, MD (2000); Richard Ulmer, MD (1999); no award in 1998; Timothy Flaherty, MD (1997); J D Kabler, MD (posthumously - 1996); John K. Scott, MD (1995); Kenneth Viste, Jr., MD (1994); Richard W. Edwards, MD and William Harlan (1993); and Gerald Kempthorne, MD (1992). 

2022 Presidential Citation

Dennis Luther, MD

The Presidential Citation was presented to Dennis Luther, MD. The award was established in 1959 to recognize an individual who has made a significant contribution to medicine and to the public’s health.

Society immediate past president Alicia Arnold, MD, presented the 2022 Presidential Citation to Dr. Luther in recognition of his years of dedication to the Chippewa Valley Free Clinic. Dr. Arnold noted, “Dr. Luther is known for his dedication and humble nature, and I am thrilled to have the opportunity to recognize and thank him for all he does.”

Past recipients
Ryan Westergaard, MD, PhD, MPH (2021); Christine Sinsky, MD (2020); Robert Jaeger, MD (2019); Alan Schwartzstein, MD (2018); Attorney General Brad Schimel (2017); U.S. Congressman Paul Ryan and Clarence Chou, MD (2016); U.S Congressman Ron Kind and Tom Jackson, MD (2015); U.S. Senator Tammy Baldwin and
U.S. Congressman Reid Ribble (2014); Sara Finger (2013); Thomas Lewandowski, MD and Anthony DeFranco, MD (2012); Cyril (Kim) Hetsko, MD (2011); Phillip Farrell, MD (2010); T. Michael Bolger (2009); Thomas C. Meyer, MD (2008); Helene Nelson (2007); Paul Wertsch, MD (2006); Raymond Zastrow, MD (2005); DHHS Secretary Tommy Thompson (2004); Kermit L. Newcomer, MD (2003); Congressman Tom Barrett (2002); John Chapin (2001); Pauline Jackson, MD (2000); Phil Dougherty, MD (1999); Attorney General James Doyle (1998); State Representative Sheldon Wasserman, MD (1997); Sue Ann Thompson (1996); the Wausau Boy Scout Troop 465, Student Peer Mediation Council-James Madison Memorial High School, Viroqua High School, Students Against Violence of Milwaukee, Positive Youth Development (1995); Patricia Stuff, MD (1994), Kevin Fullin, MD and Patty Fullin (1993); and Thomas Schlenker, MD (1992).